Statewide Tornado Drill Set for Thursday, April 14, 2011

Wisconsin Emergency Managment: Contact:  Lori Getter, 608-242-3239

Statewide Tornado Drill Set for Thursday, April 14, 2011

School children, workers, and citizens across Wisconsin will be taking cover Thursday afternoon during the statewide tornado drill.  The annual drill is a key part of Wisconsin’s Tornado and Severe Weather Awareness Week sponsored by Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) and the National Weather Service (NWS).

The statewide tornado drill will begin at 1:00 p.m. with a mock “Tornado Watch” issued by the NWS followed by mock “Tornado Warnings” for different areas of the state every 10 minutes.  The drill will end at 2:00 p.m. See schedule below.

If there is a real threat of severe weather such as tornadoes, downburst winds, or large hail anywhere in the state, the drill will be postponed to Friday.  The forecast for Thursday calls for some light rain over parts of the state – so it is unlikely that the drill will be postponed.

“Sunday’s tornado outbreak shows the importance of being ready for storm season,” said WEM Administrator Mike Hinman.  “The drill is an excellent opportunity for families, schools and businesses to discuss and practice their emergency plans so everyone knows what to do and where to go when severe weather strikes.”

Tornado Drill Schedule

1:00 pm – Mock tornado watch for all of Wisconsin

1:10-1:15 pm – National Weather Service Green Bay issues mock tornado warning for Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Vilas, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago and Wood Counties.

1:20-1:25 pm – National Weather Service Milwaukee issues mock tornado warning for Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Lafayette, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha Counties.

1:30-1:35 pm – National Weather Service La Crosse issues mock tornado warning for Adams, Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Grant, Jackson, Juneau, LaCrosse, Monroe, Richland, Taylor, Trempealeau and Vernon Counties.

1:40-1:45 pm – National Weather Service Minneapolis/Chanhassen issues mock tornado warning for Barron, Chippewa, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk and St. Croix Counties.

1:50-1:55 pm – National Weather Service Duluth issues mock tornado warning for Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Sawyer and Washburn Counties.