American Red Cross honors local heroes March 9 at annual Heroes Breakfast

American Red Cross Honors Local Heroes March 9 at annual Heroes Breakfast

By Laura McGuire, American Red Cross

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. (Feb. 9, 2022) – Every day at the American Red Cross, we see firsthand the remarkable deeds of everyday heroes. Their stories inspire and remind us to never doubt the impact an individual can make in the lives of others.

The Red Cross of Northwest Wisconsin will honor individuals who have shown courage, dedication and unselfish character by their acts of heroism in our community at the Northwest Wisconsin Heroes Breakfast, hosted by Katie Phernetton, WQOW News 18. This year’s award recipients will be honored Wednesday, March 9, 2022, at 8 The Florian Gardens Conference Center, 2340 Lorch Ave., Eau Claire.  

The Northwest Wisconsin Heroes Breakfast honors people making an impact through their bravery, dedication, and humanitarian service. This event grew out of a desire to celebrate local members of our communities living our mission – to prevent and alleviate human suffering. The award breakfast also serves as a fundraising event for programs and services provided by the Red Cross of Northwest Wisconsin.

Chosen across a handful of categories, honorees at the Northwest Wisconsin Heroes Breakfast represent those among us who reflect what is best in our communities. For over 20 years, more than 130 local heroes have been recognized and we are thrilled to add to that number.

The 2022 Heroes are:

Adult Good Samaritan Heroes

  • Kevin Dague, Eau Claire County
  • Todd Dague, Eau Claire County

Community Heroes

  • Deputy Joel Eder, Price County 
  • Deputy Sean Peterson, Price County
  • Sergeant Robert Zoubek, Price County

From the Heart Hero

  • Isaac Grover, St. Croix County

Health Care Heroes

  • DeWayne Hanson, Chippewa County
  • Christie Naberhaus, Chippewa County
  • Chief Rick Sommerfeld, Chippewa County
  • Joel Sternitzky, Eau Claire County
  • Brittany Walters, Chippewa County       
  • Tim Walters, Chippewa County 

Lifetime Hero

  • Dave Nelson, Eau Claire County

Military Hero

  • Tim Nelson, Dunn County

Youth Good Samaritan Heroes

  • Alena Otto, Chippewa County
  • Briar Omar, Burnett County

Heroes are nominated by the public and are chosen by an awards selection committee comprised of local community leaders. Honorees are selected based on the degree to which their actions uphold the values of the Red Cross humanitarian mission and leave a lasting and positive impact on the community.

Mayo Clinic Health System is the presenting sponsor of this very special event. Additional event sponsors include HSHS Sacred Heart and HSHS St. Joseph’s Hospitals, Xcel Energy, Ayres Associates and WQOW TV-18. This year’s individual Heroes sponsors include Royal Credit Union, Global Finishing Solutions, Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company, Marshfield Clinic, Scheels Sporting Goods, Security Financial Bank and WESTconsin Credit Union. Additional support sponsors include Associated Bank, Charter Bank, Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire, Kaze Studios, M3 Insurance, Market and Johnson, OakLeaf Medical Network, TTM Technologies and Wipfli.

To reserve your seat for this event, visit Reservations for this event are $45 and all proceeds go toward the Red Cross of Northwest Wisconsin.

For more information, email Mary Jane Thomsen at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: