Get to know: Jenny Berry, Summer Intern

 

By Jenny Berry, American Red Cross Intern 

photo1 (1)My name is Jenny Berry. I am currently a well-rounded student at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. I am pursuing a degree in Human Services Leadership with a Sustainability Management minor. I just finished my junior year and was rewarded my sixth semester Dean’s list. I am currently an active member of Alpha Xi Delta National Sorority, Human Services Leadership Student Organization, Golden Key National Honor Society, and lastly and most recently I have become a member of the UWO American Red Cross Club. Since I did not join until spring of 2014, I was not as involved as I would have liked to have been. Fortunately, I have recently achieved a position on the executive board as Public Relations Chair. I am truly honored to be a part of such an inspiring and helpful organization that went above and beyond this year and won the New Emerging Organization of the year on campus! My future goals are to continue my education in graduate school as well as use my past education, skills and experiences to advocate, empower, volunteer, and help others in need whether that be through disaster services, environmental services, or advising/counseling.

A little bit about me besides campus life: I was born in Bloomington, Illinois and raised in Deforest, Wisconsin. I was on the Varsity softball team from my freshman to senior year of high school. I also played varsity volleyball as well. Playing sports since a little girl has given me more attributes than I could have ever dreamed of. I love being outdoors which is why I am also interning through the University Clean Bloats Clean Waters program to educate and spread awareness of Aquatic Invasive Species.  Whenever possible my ultimate passions are to spend time with my family and my friends and to lend a hand to those in need.

It was not until recently, that through the media and volunteerism, I saw how impactful and supportive the American Red Cross was to all of the members of its communities that I truly wanted to “get my feet wet” and assist in preventing and easing the pain of others.  I am very excited to be have been blessed with the opportunity to intern with the Northeastern Wisconsin American Red Cross team this summer and work along with some truly amazing individuals to support and give compassion to those we are suffering.  I look forward to all that I will gain through this experience in and out of the office.

Leave a Reply

