“NEW” Red Cross Intern says hello!

Hello NEW Red Cross Blog followers, this is your new intern speaking. My name is Lauren Lindstrom, and will be helping out with the communication and social media aspects of the NEW Red Cross.

Reppin’ Green Bay in the Windy City

I recently completed my sophomore year at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill., and am home for the summer in my native Green Bay. At school, I study Journalism with a minor in Spanish. I hope to use both my writing background and Spanish language abilities to serve the Green Bay area this summer.

I have been writing for the Red Cross for about a month, but I would like to formally introduce myself. I am very excited for the opportunity to not only improve my writing and social media skills, but also get the chance to work for an amazing and historic organization such as the American Red Cross.

A little about me- I am 20, a lover of Mexican food and Spanish music, and Wisconsin sports (except the Badgers, I bleed Northwestern purple!). Door County is my second home and I spent a large portion of my summers growing up at my grandparents’ place in Sturgeon Bay. I am the older of two girls and love to cheer on my 17-year-old sister in soccer.

Cheering on my sister, Megan, and the De Pere girls soccer team to finishing State Runners-up.

I had lived in the Green Bay area my entire life before venturing off to Chicago for college two years ago. The transition to Chicago Bears’ land was rough, but I have found a few Packer Backers to cheer on the team with me while living in enemy territory.

This will be a busy summer for me. In addition to the Red Cross, I am a news intern at WFRV-TV and a freelance writer for the De Pere Journal. I am also in the process of moving into my first apartment down in Evanston for the following year. I am beyond exited to have this learning opportunity and work with such an amazing organization.  I look forward to meet as many of the amazing volunteers we have as possible in the few months. I can’t wait to work with all of you!

Leave a Reply

