Looking Back on 2010 and Looking Forward to 2011!

Guest Blog Post: Jody Weyers, Volunteer and Communications Director, American Red Cross Lakeland Chapter

One of my other 2010 highlights...Meeting Blake Mycoskie, Founder/CEO of TOMS Shoes

It is hard to believe that we are one week into the New Year! With any new year, I try to personally and professionally reflect back on what I am most proud of and write down goals for the upcoming year. I hope you don’t mind as I share some of my thoughts with you.

When I look back on 2010 at first glance it seems to be a blur. As I think back, professionally and personally, my greatest reward of 2010 was the ability to attend the National Conference on Volunteering and Service in New York City. Being around 5,000 individuals who share the same passion, drive and dedication to serving the volunteer workforce was inspiring to be around. It solidified for me, once again, that I’m exactly in the profession that I should be!

2010 was also a year of growth for engaging young adults with the Red Cross through the UWGB Red Cross Club. The club was started in the spring of 2009 and at the end of fall semester 2010 our group doubled in size to 40 club members. The group continues to be active participants in community events and projects that help to further the mission and goals of the American Red Cross.

Finally, when I look back on 2010, I’m very proud of the growth and collaboration that has occurred across the four chapters that make up our Northeast WI Region. We have consolidated our social media sites (facebook, twitter, blog) so the community can “follow” one Red Cross to get a clear, concise and accurate message. Through collaboration of staff and volunteers working together we continue to increase visibility in the community by doing a better job of telling our story!

What are my goals personally and professionally for 2011? Personally, I’m always trying to learn new things and experience different opportunities. Being inspired everyday by our amazing volunteers, I’ve decided that in August, I’ll embark on what I think will be one of the greatest volunteer adventures of a lifetime. I’m going to spend 11 days helping on a mission trip to Swaziland, Africa!

I see the needs within our community, across the US and across the globe everyday by working for the American Red Cross. Seeing those needs has made me want to be able to make a global impact on our world as well.  

Here I am with part of the Red Cross Club at our Red Cross Awareness Concert with Rob Anthony.

Professionally, I’d like to see continued growth in engaging young adults with the mission of the American Red Cross. I’m also excited to see how we can expand the reach of telling our story throughout the community with the new consolidated social media channels. Finally, I hope we can continue to reach those in the community to help them learn the importance of being prepared.

In March I’ll be celebrating my 10th anniversary with the American Red Cross. In that time I have met some incredible people and made life-long friends. I’ve also seen lots of changes, and shed some tears along the way. For the most part, it’s been an amazing ride and I look forward to seeing what 2011 has in store. Thank you for reading and thank you for giving of your time, talent and financial support to the American Red Cross.

Me and Blanche at her 94th Birthday! She's our oldest Volunteer at the Red Cross.

Leave a Reply

