Red Cross in Pulaski Polka Days Parade!

This past weekend Pulaski, celebrated, its 32nd Annual Polka Days, a celebration of the community near and far of their polish heritage. Sunday kicked off with a parade going through downtown Pulaski for all the community to enjoy.

 This year, Jan Traversa, Disaster Team Volunteer and her family, participated on behalf of the American Red Cross.

 Thank You Pulaski, for having the American Red Cross participate in the Pulaski Polka Days Parade.

 Here are Jan’s words on her experience:

 I drove the ERV (emergency response vehicle) while my grandkids Emily, Riley and Rachel passed out candy in the parade. My husband, Jerry helped with the kids. 

 I was able to drive and wave and see the expressions on people’s faces. I was shocked to see how many we have helped waving and thanking me. I was amazed to see people actually stand up and applaud as I drove by…I couldn’t believe it! You know how emotional I am…I was choked up a LOT! One man yelled “You have a head light out!” I said “Really?” and he ran up to the truck and said “Just kidding, I just wanted to say thanks for all you do.” OMG!

 The whole day was awesome. I can’t wait till next year. We will need more candy though! 🙂

 Thanks again, it was a great day. We also provided water and ice to a bunch of people from our own cooler. We brought a cooler for the kids but many more people needed it and we were glad to help.

 One lady said that since we were disaster services could we get more port-a-potties! Ha !  – Jan

 Thank You Jan and thank you to your family for being so supportive of the American Red Cross and always willing to lend a hand to those in need. We are so lucky to have great volunteers like you!

 

Leave a Reply

